5 New Political Parties Registered By INEC.

On the 7th, June 2017, the Independent National Electoral Commission informed the public of the registration, of five new political parties ahead of the 2019, general election in Nigeria.

This was  made known by INEC’s chairman and commissioner, Information and Voters Education Committee, Mr Adedeji Soyebi in Kaduna, at the closure of the commission’s meeting.

Presently, the associations that have applied for registration to the commission are 95 in number, meanwhile, 2 of the associations have withdrawn their applications willingly.

Mr Soyebi revealed that 760,989 voters have been registered nationwide so far, while speaking on the Continuous Voters Registration(CVR), which started on the 27th of April. He further broke it down, that 40.5 percent of females and 59.5 percent of males made up for the figure.

According to him, 31, 808 have so far collected their PVCs while 34,560 persons applied for their polling units to be transferred. Soyebi said that INEC could currently not decentralize the voters registration to the Registration Area Level, due to budgetary defects, adding that due consideration would be given to areas with peculiar problems.

The political parties he mentioned are:

  1. Young Progressive Party (YPP)
  2. Advanced People Democratic Alliance (APDA).
  3. New Generation Party of Nigeria (NGP).
  4. All Democratic Peoples Movement (ADPM).
  5. Action Democratic Party (ADP).

Leave a Reply